Support Pipedreams with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
Pipedreams home page
Celebrating the pipe organ, the King of Instruments

Miscellanea Organistica

…with so many intriguing items slipping between the cracks of our awareness, we thought we might share some overlooked treasures here.

Audio Mobile Listeners

Audio Complete Show 1 hr 58 Min

Audio 1713 Hour 1 59:00 Min

Audio 1713 Hour 2 59:00 Min

For the convenience of those of you with mobile devices, now you can listen to our PIPEDREAMS audio at!

Program Broadcast dates:

  • Week of April 3, 2017

Links and Resources:

Music played in the program

Hour 1

GEORG DIETRICH LEYDING: Praeludium in C –Friedhelm Flamme ((1724 Vater/St. Petri Church, Melle, Germany) cpo 777.123

ARTHUR HONEGGER: Fugue and Chorale –Edward Berryman (1865 Aeolian-Skinner/Macalester College, St. Paul, MN) Pipedreams Archive (r. 1/16/72); Frederick Swann (Skinner-Schlicker/1st Congregational Church, Los Angeles, CA) Gothic 49118

DANIEL GAWTHROP: Chorale & Incantation –Paul Skevington (1998 Steiner-Reck/St. Luke Catholic Church, McLean, VA) Summit 436

BERT MATTER: Magnificat of ‘De Lofzang van Maria’ –Dorien Lievers, mezzo-soprano; Caecilia de Leeuw, recorder; Bert Matter (1639 Bader-1813 Timpa/Walburgiskerk, Zutphen, the Netherlands) Musica Walburga 96001

ALEXANDRE GUILMANT: Fugue in f, Op. 75, no. 3; Fugue in F, Op. 72, no. 2 –Jane Watts (1877 Lewis-1976 Crofts/Cathedral of St. Paul, Wellington, New Zealand) Priory 775

Hour 2

NICOLAS JACQUES LEMMENS: Fugue-Fanfare, fr Sonata Pontificale –Massimo Nosetti (2008 Mascioni/Church of St. John the Evangelist, Alessandria, Italy Syrius 141439

FLOR PEETERS: Four Pieces, Op. 71 (Hymn; Largo; In Memoriam; Final) –Jane Watts (1997 Klais/Queensland Performing Arts Center, Brisbane, Australia) Priory 516

GEORGE J. BENNETT: Elegiac Prelude –Colin Walsh (1898 Willis-1998 Harrison/Lincoln Cathedral, England) Priory DVD 4

MAX BAUMANN: Larghetto, Op. 95; Allegro rigoroso, fr 3 Pieces, Op. 67 –Rosalinde Haas (1999 Rieger/Vierzenheiligen Basilica, Germany) MD&G 315 1084

ANDRÉ FLEURY: Symphony No. 1 (1943) –Bernhard Leonardy (1845 Cavaillé-Coll, La Madeleine, Paris) Motette 13871